One-Litre F3 Historic Racing Association


Historic Formula 3 Championship 2023 Provisional Points [pdf]


View full Gallery from this Event

20th-21st April 2013 - Cadwell Park

Justin Haler Trophy Goes to Tim Kary

The 2013 season of racing for Historic Formula 3 got off to a flying start at the HSCC’s Wolds Trophy meeting at Cadwell Park, with a strong grid of immaculate cars and good racing all the way down the field. After lots of crowd-pleasing action in the Justin Haler Trophy races, Dean Forward and Stuart Tizzard took a win apiece.

Tim Kary qualified his Brabham BT28 on pole for Saturday’s race and led from the start, before succumbing to pressure from Forward’s BT21B on the second lap. Tizzard’s Chevron B15C headed the chase of the lead pair, as Keith Messer (Vesey Ford), Jim Chapman (Lotus 59) and Peter Thompson (Brabham BT21) disputed fourth.

Chapman fell behind Thompson after a trip across the grass at the Mountain on lap four, but Forward’s lead continued to grow. Chapman retired from sixth with overheating problems after five laps, as the top six remained unchanged during the second half of the race.

But late dramas left race winner Forward lucky to have taken the spoils. “The engine just died on me after the flag, I couldn’t have done another lap,” he explained. Kary was a solid second, well clear of third-placed Tizzard. Messer retained fourth from Thompson, with John Counsell (Brabham BT18A) completing the top six.

Although Forward was due to line up on pole position for the second race, he pulled off on the out lap. “There was a death rattle from the engine, so I parked it as soon as I could,” he explained.

Kary was left to head the field again from the start, with Tizzard soon demoting Messer from an early second, Messer continued to threaten the Chevron. But further down the pack Nigel Bancroft’s Chevron B17 was barrelling through the early order, having missed the opening race with engine problems.

Unfortunately, it was not to be Kary’s day when he spun away the lead at the foot of the Mountain. “I should have known my limitations,” he admitted. While Kary struggled to get off the grass and back onto the track Tizzard, Messer, Counsell and Jim Timms (Brabham BT21B) all went by. “I thought ‘yes’ when I saw him spinning,” said new leader Tizzard.

Although Messer closed in for a while, Tizzard kept it all together to claim the win by over seven seconds, with Kary retaking third spot from Counsell on the last lap. Bancroft’s charge finally netted him fifth from lap nine onwards, with Timms completing the top six.

Paul Lawrence


Post race Update Stuart Tizzard excluded from race 10 Article C3.5.1a & b, CR5.15 & MSA Section B refers.

Qualifying, Grid and results [PDF]

Justin Haler results [PDF]

Combine_Results_Cadwell_Park_2013.pdf [PDF]